Two Eskimos

The cocoons that you weaved in the snow, so delicately, made me feel safe. I snuggled into one of them. Warm snow mummies we were, you and I. Our rebirth into the winter’s afterlife was always heralded by our glittering transient walls crashing down around us like infant tidal waves in practice. You took my hand as we walked away from our broken cocoon; non-existent now. Our life was always like this; permanence being a futile feeling.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. morvid

     /  January 12, 2010

    I love your symbolism in this. Very well written. Very poetic

    Reply
  2. jessiecarty

     /  January 14, 2010

    the debate between what is a prose poem and what is flash fiction is always tricky. this, to me, seems more of a prose poem than a flash fiction because of the imagery. why did you choose to call it flash fiction? 🙂

    Reply
  3. I did struggle with this one…..I’m so used to writing poetry…….I need to snap out of poetry mode sometimes!…..This one was difficult, in that I didn’t think that it really looked like a poem either…..

    Reply
    • jessiecarty

       /  January 14, 2010

      maybe you know it is fiction when you write something really long and then it turns into something short. hmm

      Reply
  4. I did after all decide to tag this as a prose poetry piece.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

