The Seasons

this is in response to a prompt here: readwritepoem

my five songs were: I don’t blame you by Cat Power, derivation by Beats Antique, sour times by Portishead, I am stretched on your grave by Dead Can Dance, Now Welcome Somer by Mediaeval Babes

The Seasons

I don’t blame you for the stars colliding with the grotto in my brain now.
The sulphur there took care of that
From the sour times before that
When I used to contemplate the derivation of sand from the glass
Stuck to the bathroom tile from the aftershocks.
Now there is no more glass; no more earthquakes.
I am stretched on your grave;
It is cold, and this is not a metaphor.
Winter carved you a niche inside earth’s mouth.
Now welcome somer so that you can sprout limbs
And I will climb to the sky and jump into its dark mouth.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Rob

     /  April 1, 2010

    enjoyed it very much!
    Catpower and Portishead…woo whoo!

    Reply
  2. I really enjoyed this a lot! Cool!
    Pamela

    Reply
  3. “I am stretched on your grave;
    It is cold, and this is not a metaphor.”

    Those lines spoke to me. I think it is because…I have been there before and it wasn’t a metaphor. I really like it, darlin!

    Reply
  4. jessiecarty

     /  April 2, 2010

    i’ve seen quite a few poems from this prompt but this was is really intriguing. i love the grotto in my brain and this is not a metaphor.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

