Ego Kills

I was addicted to my own annihilation.
Three times.
Worse than a heroin addict
Chasing the dragon to death-
One time dead.
But I never died
Physically.
My own ego,
A smooth talking doppelganger
Wrapped in pretty colors and razors.
Sold me out.
Three times.
The first one destroyed me
In a small room of cages and asylums.
(note to physical self: never trust an obsessed psycho who masquerades
As a guitar playing witch doctor)
After that I was a different color inside.
Black colored over the purple.
The second one obliterated me
In an open field of wine glasses and bones.
(note to emotional self: never love the magician who marauds
As your long lost soul twin)
After that I was a different sound inside.
Drums beating out the vibrato.
The third one killed me
In a city of vacuous demigods and whores.
(note to psyche self: Never mingle with a sycophant who wears
The costume of a genius)
After that I was a different taste inside.
Something like rotting grapes without the wine.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

