breathe

(my day 14 poem….I kind of skipped a couple of days again. (damn, I’m such a bad napowrimo’er!!)…but, alas I was in the mountains for a couple of days and didn’t exactly have a piece of paper or a laptop with me, and I’m too tired and lazy at the moment to concoct two more poems)

I wouldn’t be holding my breath
Counting to twenty
years later.
sometimes
people change
but usually
They don’t.
I looked to you
hoping, holding
my breath.
The only
evidence
one collapsed
lung
riding piggy-back
on hopes and ifs.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

