Mother

She said, “I’m going to take the trash out now.”
He thought she said,”I’m going to take the trash out because
you are lazy.”
So, he rages, ” I work 50 hours a week, and you don’t do shit!”
But that’s not what she said.
She said it because she just wanted to get outside, she needed
to flex her biceps, she needed to feel her strength.
The strength she no longer had in her voice.
As she always was now tight-lipped, gulping down anxiety like coffee,
eyes ready to wince, and just existing on the periphery.
Pictures of her now: escape routes pouring out of those green eyes.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Thank you for writing about domestic violence. I read your poems grateful that I got out when I did, still breathing, still able to love someone in a healthy way. I appreciate your work.

    Reply
  2. This poem left me with my breath caught in my throat. There is a powerful message here and it needs to be heard. Thank you for this poem.

    Reply
  1. NaPoWriMo – Day 2 – “Some Of Us Die Heroes” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a comment