You made me feel safe

a long time ago.
Back when I was still your lady, and you knew my favorite
green food, and you gave me green jewelry.
You understood the feelings lurking beneath and you
gave words to them with smiles and affection.
I understood the thorny milestones lodged into your heart
and patiently waited for them to work their way out.
But now there is no safe haven.
The tumorous worms are burrowing around in your heart.
You blame my tone for your detonations,
but you don’t realize the panic button beneath the tone,
and that once upon a time I couldn’t speak.
Maybe I learned my tone all wrong because a different tone ages
ago caused my face to get smashed in.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

