The (not so resting) Bicycle Face

Mary had it, but she didn’t care.
She could ride a century in a day
in her brown bloomers and laced black boots.
She was a scorcher on her bone-shaker
much to the chagrin of all her kin.
But Mary didn’t care.
She knew you only lived once,
and in 1893, fainting on
a couch was not at the
top of her list.

(napowrimo day 27….and for https://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2017/04/writing-shoes.html I was also inspired by the women who rode bicycles in the late 1800’s.
““Let me tell you what I think of bicycling. I think it has done more to emancipate women than anything else in the world. It gives women a feeling of freedom and self-reliance. I stand and rejoice every time I see a woman ride by on a wheel…the picture of free, untrammelled womanhood.” – Susan B. Anthony

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I absolutely love this. And her.

    Reply
  2. Rosemary Nissen-Wade

     /  April 27, 2017

    Oh, lovely. Good for Mary!

    Reply
  3. Good for her, and many of them. A super charming image here, and lively and risque poem in a way that goes with your period piece. Very cute and more. k.

    Reply
  4. I loved the picture you painted for us of turn-of-the-century women’s rights. Looking forward to reading more of your stuff!

    Reply
  5. So true.. She did things her way. Love it!

    Reply
  6. OMG your title! Totally inspired. And I love the idea of biking as freedom for women…. rings very true. In my life, moments when I got around by bikes were definitely the most free times. Really well done, love this.

    Reply
  7. I think that bicycles are freedom for everyone… maybe that’s why there is resistance in giving room for them today.

    Reply
  8. Really cool quote from Susan B. Anthony and I like your free-spirited poem! 1893… wouldn’t they be shocked today!?

    Reply
  9. sanaarizvi

     /  April 30, 2017

    Lovely!❤️

    Reply

Leave a Reply

